Coffee? I think you mean Matcha!

Matcha 

  noun;  

 ” powdered green tea leaves, dissolved in hot water to make tea or used as a flavouring.”

Matcha tea is the Japanese equivalent of a super food! It is a dark green powder that is typically dissolved in hot water to make tea. Despite its not so sweet flavour, matcha is  a popular ingredient in many Japanese sweets such a mochi (rice) cakes and ice cream. Luckily for me I love the stuff, which is why I stocked up in Japan because matcha is really expensive in Australia! (sigh).

What makes matcha a super food is all the secret goodies hiding in it! It is packed with vitamins and antioxidants; vitamin C, zinc and magnesium, just to name a few!  Matcha also has a high caffeine content which makes it the perfect coffee alternative.

Now don’t get me wrong I love a good cup of coffee, I am a 3 cups a day kind of girl. What I don’t love about coffee is what it does to my energy levels . Caffeine in coffee hits you really quickly and I always get a massive surge of energy followed by no energy at all. Matcha gradually releases caffeine, giving you a nice slow and even release of energy instead of burning it out all at once.

Another great side effect of matcha is that it is really good for your skin. Whenever I drink coffee my acne swells up and my face and back break out. When I drink  matcha I find the opposite happens. I still get acne, but the break outs are smaller and less aggressive.  I’ve also read that women use it as a face mask, though I am yet to try this (I’ll keep you posted!).

Now that I have provided you with all my matcha knowledge go out and try some! It is a bit expensive but it’s totally worth it. Let me know what you think of it (taste and all) in the comments below.

– D

“5 Reasons to Drink Matcha Instead of Coffee”. Retrieved February 08, 2017, from https://www.breakawaymatcha.com/journal/5-reasons-to-drink-matcha-instead-of-coffee/ 

“Health Benefits of Matcha Tea.” Matcha Source. Retrieved February 08, 2017, from http://matchasource.com/health-benefits-of-matcha-tea/ 

Leave a Reply

